Call for Nominations to the NMTESOL Board of Directors

Dear colleagues:

It is time for the members of NMTESOL to elect three members of the Board of Directors: Vice President, Secretary, and Journal Editor. The term of service for these Board members will be 2013-2014.

Before the voting can take place, though, we need your help in finding the best candidates for these positions. Please take a moment to consider whether you or someone you know would be able and willing to serve in one of these capacities.

The Vice President’s primary job is to lead the association during the President’s absence. The Board also assigns special projects to the VP. Two pending projects are membership recruitment and a state-wide survey of English language programs at all levels. The goal of the survey is to prepare a unique and informative report of the scope of TESOL in New Mexico.

The Secretary has responsibility for recording Board meetings and votes, managing Board elections, and keeping the records of the association. Also, the Secretary has prepared printed material for our annual conference.

The Journal Editor is a new role on the Board. Previously, the association published a quarterly electronic NMTESOL Newsletter. Recently the Board decided to expand this publication and change the name to NMTESOL Journal. This Board member is responsible for accepting submissions and editing this new electronic publication.

In addition to being willing to fulfill the basic duties outlined above, the candidates must be:
• members of NMTESOL
• able to serve the duration of their two-year term
• able to take part in monthly meetings, which are usually conducted online using Skype

If you wish to nominate yourself or someone else, please send nominations to this post or our email address: along with a short introduction of the nominee. We encourage you to send your nominations by December 19, 2012. Voting will be conducted online in January.

We appreciate your support of NMTESOL.

your Board of Directors:

Bill Ancker, President
Vice President – vacant
Dean Sundberg, Treasurer
Penny Mortier, Secretary
Melanie Mullen, Web Coordinator
Nicholas Santavicca, Journal Editor